Endowed Chairs

The University is committed to promoting research and scholastic development in diverse fields and has initiated the establishment of endowed chairs in 2009. This initiative received great support from individuals and partners in industry through the generous provision of endowments for the establishment of professor chairs.

Since 2009, nine chairs have been established and the total contribution received was RM13.75 million. This has enabled the appointment of professors to develop and achieve excellence in research, development, education and training in the respective fields of specialisation. The nine endowed chairs in chronological order of establishment are:

Endowed Chair
The STAR Foundation Professor of Creative Industries
Prof. Dr. William Ray Langenbach  
SHL Professor of Construction Management   
Prof. Dr. Naoto Mine
Brunsfield Professor of Civil Engineering   
Prof. Dr. Yasuo Tanaka
Tan Sri Dato' Philip Kuok Professorial Chair in Agricultural Science   
Professor Dr Minoru Murata
Department of Agricultural and Food Science
Faculty of Science
For information about establishing an endowed chair, please contact Dr. Lai Soon Onn, the Director of Division of Community and International Networking at 603 9086 0288 Extension: 385 or  laiso@utar.edu.my