Professional Recognition

UTAR continually seeks for accreditation and recognition for its programmes from professional bodies where relevant to the respective fields of studies. Accreditation or recognition by professional bodies provides UTAR and its programmes with international reputation. In addition, it demonstrates that UTAR's programmes are benchmarked and are equivalent to global standards. To date, UTAR has gained recognition from numerous leading professional bodies such as Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM), Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS), Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), etc.

Multimedia Super Corridor (MSC) Status
  1. Kampar Campus

Faculty of Science (FSc)
  1. Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
  2. The Society of Logisticians Malaysia (LogM) 


Lee Kong Chian Faculty of Engineering and Science (LKC FES) & Faculty of Engineering and Green Technology (FEGT)
  1. Board of Engineers Malaysia (BEM)
  2. Board of Quantity Surveyors Malaysia (BQSM)
  3. Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS)
  4. The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)
  5. Society of Actuaries (SOA)
  6. Financial Planning Association of Malaysia (FPAM)
  7. Board of Architects Malaysia

Faculty of Accountancy and Management (FAM) & Faculty of Business and Finance (FBF)
  1. The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)
  2. The Chartered Institute of Management Accountants (CIMA)
  3. The Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA)
  4. The Chartered Tax Institute of Malaysia (CTIM)
  5. CPA Australia
  6. Malaysian Association of Company Secretaries (MACS)
  7. The Malaysian Institute of Certified Public Accountants (MICPA)
  8. Financial Planning Association of Malaysia (FPAM)
  9. Malaysian Institute of Accountants (MIA)
  10. Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales (ICAEW)
  11. Asian Institute of Chartered Bankers (AICB)


As Malaysia is a signatory of the Washington Accord, UTAR's engineering degrees are recognised by each signatory as being substantially equivalent to accredited or recognised qualifications within its own jurisdiction.

The following are other signatories of the Washington Accord:

  1. Australia
  2. Canada
  3. China
  4. Chinese Taipei
  5. Hong Kong China
  6. India
  7. Ireland
  8. Japan
  9. Korea
  10. New Zealand
  11. Russia
  12. Singapore
  13. South Africa
  14. Sri Lanka
  15. Turkey
  16. United Kingdom
  17. United States


UTAR is recognised by the Governments of the following economies:

  • The Philippines
  • Tanzania
  • Iraq
  • Yemen
  • China
  • Austria
  • Gambia
  • Liberia
  • Maldives
  • Pakistan
  • Sierra Leon
  • Vietnam
  • UAE
  • Taiwan
  • Jordan
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Indonesia







Signing of Joint Statement of Confidence of Higher Education Evaluation and Accreditation Council of Taiwan and Malaysia Qualifications Agency on Each Other's Quality Assurance Outcomes, please refer to